COE raises tropical cyclone alerts to 28 provinces

The Emergency Operations Center (COE) increased to 28 the provinces on alert given the large amount of rain that will continue to fall due to the approach of the potential tropical cyclone 22 this season and one trough in height.

Alert levels are activated in the event of possible flooding of rivers, streams and ravines, as well as sudden or urban flooding.

Seven provinces are located in Red alert because there is a high probability that the natural phenomenon will impact the area, causing damage to people, property, roads and other infrastructure or the environment. These are: Pedernales, Barahona, Elías Piña, Independencia, San Juan, Azua and Bahoruco.

The alert yellow It is designated when the upward trend in the development of the event implies imminent risk situations and severe emergency situations. In this condition are Santo Domingo, Peravia, Dajabón, La Vega, Duarte, María Trinidad Sánchez, Samaná, Monseñor Nouel, San José de Ocoa, San Cristóbal and Sánchez Ramírez, Monte Plata, San Pedro de Macorís, La Romana, Hato Mayor, El Siebo and the National District.


In green It is designated when the expectations of a phenomenon allow us to foresee the occurrence of an event of a dangerous nature for the population. It may be partial or total. At that alert level are: Hermanas Mirabal, Santiago and La Altagracia.

Location: The potential tropical cyclone It is located about 30 kilometers northeast of Montego Bay, Jamaica, and has maximum sustained winds of up to 55 kilometers per hour and is moving northeast at a speed of 28 kilometers per hour.

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more
Share This:

Peggy McColl

Mentor l NY Times Bestselling Author. Hi, I'm Peggy McColl, and I'm here to deliver a positive message to you!

Leave a Reply