Mexican President Andrés López Obradorsuspended the summit of the Pacific Alliance after the refusal of the Peruvian Congress to authorize the trip of President Pedro Castillo, in the midst of the political crisis facing Peru.

“The meeting of the Pacific Alliance was suspended because They did not allow the president of Peru to attend and it is up to him to receive the pro tempore presidency”said López Obrador in his traditional morning conference.

“We are exploring the possibility of holding an act in Peru” the first week of December, added the president.

The Pacific Alliance, also made up of Colombia and Chilehad scheduled the summit for this Thursday and Friday in Mexico City, and the leaders of Costa Rica and Ecuador, countries seeking to join the bloc, were invited.

However, last Thursday the Peruvian Congress denied Castillo, who is under investigation for alleged corruption, permission to leave the country and attend the meeting in the context of the political crisis facing the Andean country.

Castle’s response

“I appreciate the solidarity and support of the brother president of Mexico, by putting the common interest of our peoples above any political irresponsibility that a certain sector caused by preventing my trip to your so generous country,” Castillo said on his Twitter profile.

In recent months, the Peruvian parliament had also refused the president authorization to visit the Vatican and Belgium, and to attend the inauguration of Colombian President Gustavo Petro.

Despite the diplomatic setback, Castillo expressed his country’s willingness to assume the pro tempore presidency of the Pacific Alliance, which he described not only as a “challenge”, but also as “a commitment to promote the advancement of the peoples”.

“To the members of this space, we are ready to receive them,” he said.

What is the Pacific Alliance

Focused on economic integration and free trade, the Pacific Alliance defines itself as “the eighth economic power and the eighth export power worldwide.”

The regional bloc has a partner at the other end of the Pacific Ocean, Singapore, while Australia, New Zealand and South Korea are in the process of joining, as well as Ecuador and Costa Rica.

Source: Pagina12

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more
Share This:

Varun Kumar

Varun Kumar is a freelance writer working on news website. He contributes to Our Blog and more. Wise also works in higher ed sustainability and previously in stream restoration. He loves running, trees and hanging out with her family.

Leave a Reply