You are currently viewing Democracy Awards 2022: never go back

The Contribution of the arts and sciences to Argentine democracy was celebrated this Thursday afternoon when they met, at the Argentine Theater of La Platathe winners of the fourteenth edition of the Democracy Awards. With the musical participation of Leon Gieco and Teresa Parodi, who -among others- received special awards for the social commitment of their work; the award, organized for years by the Faces and Masks Cultural Center of the October Groupvalued the work and trajectory “in defense of democracy”, of musicians, visual artists, scientists, educators and environmental advocates, among other items that define the values ​​of civic coexistence.

Between public and committed figures, awarded or honored for their careers as Alejandro Dolina, Tete Coustarot or the historian Hugo Chumbita, the ceremony led by an agile and relaxed duo made up of Agustina Diaz and Maximiliano Legnani also distinguished associations such as that of the Relatives of the ARA San Juan and the Mothers of ItuzaingóAlong with scientists like John Paul Peace.

Dolina called to cover democracy with humanity. (Image: Rocío M. González)

“In defense of democracy, which today assumes as a challenge the fight against capitalism at the world level and don’t live with hate”, pointed out at the beginning of the ceremony the journalist and writer María Seoane, executive president of the Democracy Awards jury. This values ​​the work of “those who enlighten us to be better every day” added the General Coordinator of the October Group, Víctor Santa María. And he called for discerning that “not all democratic expressions are the same”, to highlight: “There are people who add value to democracy, and today we are going to recognize them.”

The award ceremony, held on the day of the anniversary of the death of Nestor Kirchner, He gave honors to the former president, whom Santa María thanked for his commitment to political action in “the consolidation of democracy” and for his dedication aimed at recovering “the value of workers in Argentina.” Santa María pointed out the federal profile of the award that this year is awarded in the city of La Plata, and thanked the National University of La Plata and the governor Axel Kicillof, before the start of the awards ceremony decided by the jury chaired by Estela de Carlotto.

The celebration of democracy

León Gieco was the first to go up to receive his recognition. delivery, by Florence Saintout, head of the Cultural Institute of the province, introduced the first musical segment of the afternoon. Armed with guitar and harmonica -his hallmark of him-of him, Gieco offered a series of songs from the new CD “Recorded in zoom mode with many important artists,” he told the audience. As a tribute to the Grandmothers and Mothers of Plaza de Mayo, she then performed “The landing”where it takes up the moment in which the Human Rights organizations entered what is now the former Esma, to begin its transformation into a Site of Memory.

“Although Estela (Carlotto) is not present today, she will always be with us,” said Gieco. And he closed his presentation with a vibrant version of “Cachito, the champion of Corrientes”, dedicated “to Teresa Parodi”, he underlined, looking at the artist who was in the first rows. The chamamé this time included verses sung in Guarani, confirming the popular roots of the work and encouraging those present who attended a moment of simple and high artistic quality.

Teresa Parodi, lifetime achievement award (Image: Rocío M. González)

Teresa Parodi’s response came at the end, when she received the lifetime achievement award. “For this democracy that has cost us blood, sweat and tears,” Teresa summarized. And she dedicated it “to the one who enlightened Argentine politics” referring to Kirchner. Teresa chose to interpret “That little music”, to close an afternoon where politics was combined with ethical and aesthetic values, in a practice that is expressed beyond speeches. This was confirmed by the lifetime achievement awards given to Dolina, Teté Coustarot and Hugo Chumbita.

With word art on his side, the writer and host of revenge will be terrible called to consider that “what is necessary for democracy, more than freedom, is that the other exists”. And he was hopeful: “I hope that freedom is accompanied by that recognition by the other, because that clothes of humanity to democracy”. “Honored by this award”, Teté emphasized her vocation for public educationand recovered a play on words that was born with the democratic recovery in the country: “Democracy, let’s give thanks, we used to say” he recalled.

The prizes by category

in the field Outstanding Personality of Latin America She was chosen France Marquez, the Vice President of Colombia, to whom her Embassy will send the sculpture that identifies the award. And as a representative of Argentine Thought was chosen Eduardo Rinesiphilosopher and educator who joined the mythical collective Open letter. This distinction for Rinesi “is an invitation” to continue working “to conquer more freedoms and rights to continue defending democracy.”

Civil associations had a priority place: The Mothers of Ituzaingófrom the province of Córdoba, received the award in the category Ambient, for his persistent and supportive action that has already been 20 years “in the fight against fumigations.” The relatives of the ARA San Juan received him in the field Human rights. “Our fight to find our relatives became a fight for rights for all Argentines,” explained the father of one of the marine victims of the fatal naval episode upon receiving the award, to sustained applause from the room.

Teté Coustarot, distinguished for her career (Image: Rocío M. González)

The section dedicated to Education and Science it had the color of children’s games and the wise reflections of a popular scientist. The group Pim Pau, winners in the Education category, sent a colorful video with the following message: “We are for teacher training and public and popular education. Our motto is military democracy”. The scientist Juan Pablo Paz -Conicet and UBA-, specialized in quantum mechanics, surprised with his humor. Not sighted, he assured that he would have loved to take “a photo with León, even if he could not see it.” And he claimed “activist for the defense of public education and technology at the service of an inclusive model”.

The photographer Sebastian Michael He was recognized in Plastic and Visual Arts, and he thanked him “because what we photographers do in the streets is love, and memory,” he said. and the actress Lorraine Vegaawarded in Theater, went up to receive it together with Osky Guzman, with whom he shared a terna. And she was grateful to receive it “on this day and in this theater”, referring to the fire of 1977 that razed the old colonial building.

In Sports was chosen Facundo Imhoff, who thanked in a video the representation of sexual diversity that expresses it, since “many suffer from this situation,” he explained. Also on video the filmmaker Santiago Miter thanked the award for his film Argentina, 1985and the writer Maria Negroni his prize in Literature. wow won in the Music category. In the section MemoryMeanwhile, Sylvia Molloy, Federico Shuster, Diego Maradona, Arturo Bonin, Magdalena Ruiz Guiñazú, Heriberto Muraro, Carlitos Balá, Cesar Mascetti, Noe Jitrik, “Cacho” Fontana and Antonio Brailovsky were remembered “for what they have meant for the Argentinian culture”.

Image: Rocío M. González.

Source: Pagina12

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more

Varun Kumar

Varun Kumar is a freelance writer working on news website. He contributes to Our Blog and more. Wise also works in higher ed sustainability and previously in stream restoration. He loves running, trees and hanging out with her family.

Leave a Reply