The start of the international match year 2022 has a showdown to offer.

At the guest appearance in Wales, the ÖFB national team would like to take the penultimate step towards participation in the 2022 World Cup in Qatar (November 21 to December 18) with a win on March 24th.

Team boss Franco Foda nominated a squad with some returnees on Tuesday. Because in contrast to autumn, various top performers such as Stefan Lainer, Xaver Schlager or Sasa Kalajdzic are fit again.

There is therefore no room for big surprises in the 24-man squad.

Austria goalie Pentz is there

Rather, some usual squad members do not find a place in the squad. For example, Stefan Ilsanker, Alessandro Schöpf, Ercan Kara and Karim Onisiwo are missing.

Foda speaks of difficult decisions. “The last international matches took place in November. We didn’t want to change the squad situation that much, because these players in particular know our processes and principles within the team. That’s why we decided on this squad,” said the German.

Bristol legionnaire Andreas Weimann, who is in top form, is only on call, just like Bielefeld shooting star Patrick Wimmer.

The third goalkeeper, alongside Daniel Bachmann and Heinz Lindner, is Austria goalie Patrick Pentz. With Nicolas Seiwald (Salzburg) and Marco Grüll (Rapid), two Bundesliga players remain in the squad.

If the promotion succeeds in Wales, it will have to wait until June whether the ticket for Qatar can actually be solved. As is well known, the parallel game between Scotland and Ukraine had to be postponed.


player Association
Daniel Bachman Watford FC (ENG)
Heinz Lindner FC Basel (SUI)
Patrick Pentz Austria Vienna (AUT)
David Alaba Real Madrid (ESP)
Aleksandar Dragovic Red Star Belgrade (SRB)
Martin Hinteregger Eintracht Frankfurt (GER)
Stefan Lainer Borussia Monchengladbach (GER)
Philip Lienhart SC Freiburg (GER)
Stephen Posch TSG Hoffenheim (GER)
Christopher Trimmel Union Berlin (GER)
Andrew Ulmer Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)
Christopher Baumgartner TSG Hoffenheim (GER)
Florian Grillitsch TSG Hoffenheim (GER)
Marco Grull Rapid Vienna (AUT)
Konrad Laimer RB Leipzig (GER)
Valentino Lazaro Benfica (POR)
Dejan Ljubicic Cologne (GER)
Marcel Sabitzer FC Bayern (GER)
Louis Schaub Cologne (GER)
Xavier Schlager Wolfsburg (GER)
Nicholas Seiwald Red Bull Salzburg (AUT)
Marko Arnautovic Bologna FC (ITA)
Michael Gregorych FC Augsburg (GER)
Sasa Kalajdzic VfB Stuttgart (GER)

On call:
Martin FRAISL (FC Schalke 04/GER)
Pavao PERVAN (VfL Wolfsburg/GER)
Kevin DANSO (RC Lens/FRA)
Gernot TRAUNER (Feyenoord Rotterdam/NED)
Maximilian ULLMANN (Venezia FC/ITA)
Maximilian WOBER (FC Red Bull Salzburg)
Yusuf DEMIR (SK Rapid)
Stefan ILSANKER (Eintracht Frankfurt/GER)
Jakob JANTSCHER (SK Sturm Graz)
Florian KAINZ (1. FC Cologne/GER)
Romano SCHMID (SV Werder Bremen/GER)
Alessandro SCHÖPF (Arminia Bielefeld/GER)
Patrick WIMMER (Arminia Bielefeld/GER)
Junior ADAMU (FC Red Bull Salzburg)
Adrian GRBIC (Vitesse Arnhem/NED)
Ercan KARA (Orlando City SC/USA)
Karim ONISIWO (1.FSV Mainz 05/GER),
Andreas WEIMANN (Bristol City/ENG)


Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more
Share This:


The News 24 is the place where you get news about the World. we cover almost every topic so that you don’t need to find other sites.

Leave a Reply