The fracture in the block of senators of the Frente de Todos is, at this point, undisguisable. And the project of the agreement with the IMF, which has already been approved halfway, has finished dividing the waters and more voices are beginning to be heard expressing their dissent regarding Cristina Kirchner’s leadership.

According to a survey carried out by the newspaper La Nación, some 20 pro-government senators would be willing to support the project promoted by the government and resisted by Kirchnerism, while around 12 remain on the opposite side.

Likewise, nothing has been said, especially among critics of the initiative, since one recourse would be to be absent at the time of the vote or to abstain, something that was seen in the Deputies. In any case, the result would be the same in terms of not voting in the affirmative.

There were several who changed their position and the governors, who also came out to play hard, had a lot to do with that, in this case to support the understanding with the IMF.

It happens that many provinces have bond debt in foreign currency and a default could seriously complicate finances. In addition, they have the logical commitments to the national government. And in part that was the message received by the head of the bloc, José Mayans, during the meeting he held with the chief of staff and in which President Alberto Fernández even participated.

It is known that there is a group of senators enrolled in La Cámpora who are against it: Matías Rodríguez, María Eugenia Duré, Martín Doñate, Mariano Recalde and Anabel Fernández Sagasti, who has not yet said in public that she would vote against but that she would do so “as Peronist and Mendoza”.

The others who reject the agreement are Oscar Parrilli and a group of Christian senators made up of Silvina García Larraburu, María Pilatti, Nora Giménez, Silvia Sapag, María Eugenia Catalfamo and Ana María Ianni. There is also Juliana Di Tullio, but she did not anticipate her vote, while Guillermo Snopek from Jujuy would also oppose, annoyed at the closeness of the national government with Governor Gerardo Morales.

Those who will raise their hands within the ruling party to accompany the agreement are Sergio Leavy, Antonio Rodas, Claudia Ledesma, José Neder, Gerardo Montenegro, Carlos Linares, José Rubén Uñac, Cristina López Valverde, Lucía Corpacci Guillermo Andrada, Carlos Espínola, Pablo Yedlin . Sandra Mendoza, Daniel Bensusán, Marcelo Lewandowski, Edgardo Kueider, Maurice Closs, Ricardo Guerra, José Mayans and María Teresa González


Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more


The News 24 is the place where you get news about the World. we cover almost every topic so that you don’t need to find other sites.

Leave a Reply