You are currently viewing What countries make up NATO?  How does it work?

The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), is an international organization made up of countries from Europe and North America. Currently, due to the conflict between Russia and Ukraine, this entity of a political and military nature has been mentioned a lot. Its main objective is to guarantee the security and freedom of member countries.

SIGHT: Love in times of war: Ukrainian soldier operates fake gun to propose to his girlfriend

It was founded on April 4, 1949. With the end of World War II, 12 countries signed the Washington Treaty and agreed to create an Alliance through which to commit to mutual defense in the event of a new war aggression.

NATO”constitutes a unique link between these two continents, allowing them to consult and cooperate in the field of defense and security and jointly carry out multinational crisis management operations”, according to the official website.

SIGHT: Change of summer time in Mexico 2022: start date and how to know if the clock is ahead or back

What are the member countries of NATO?

NATO currently consists of 30 countries. In this group are the 12 countries that signed the Washington Treaty: United StatesCanada, Belgium, Denmark, France, Holland, Iceland, Italy, Luxembourg, Norway, United Kingdom and Portugal.

Three more countries were then added to the list in the 1950s: Greece (1952), Turkey (1952), and the Federal Republic of Germany (1955). Almost thirty years later, Spain was incorporated in 1982. In 1999, Hungary, Poland and the Czech Republic, joined.

Then in the first years of the new century, there were more adhesions:


  • Romania
  • Bulgaria
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Estonia
  • latvia
  • Lithuania




SIGHT: What is SWIFT and why is it so important for Russia?

The purpose of NATO is to guarantee the freedom and security of member countries, for which they can choose to use political and military means. According to the website of this entity, this is how they are understood:

  • political media: NATO promotes democratic values ​​and allows members to consult and cooperate on defense and security issues to solve problems, build trust and, in the long term, avoid conflict.
  • military means: NATO is committed to the peaceful resolution of disputes. When diplomatic efforts fail, the military launches crisis management operations. These operations are carried out under the collective defense clause of the NATO founding treaty (Article 5 of the Washington Treaty) or by mandate of the United Nations, alone or in cooperation with other countries and international organizations.

NATO partner countries

  • Partnership for Peace: Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Finland, Georgia, Ireland, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Malta, Moldova, Russia, Serbia, Sweden, Switzerland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan.
  • Mediterranean Dialogue: Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Morocco, Mauritania, Tunisia.
  • Istanbul Cooperation Initiative: Bahrain, Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Kuwait.
  • Global partners: Afghanistan, Australia, Colombia, South Korea, Iraq, Japan, Mongolia, New Zealand, Pakistan.
  • Other international organizations: mainly the United Nations, the European Union, the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe.

It should be noted that for decision-making, the partner countries do not have the same authority as the member countries.

According to the criteria of

Trust Project

Know more




Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more


The News 24 is the place where you get news about the World. we cover almost every topic so that you don’t need to find other sites.

Leave a Reply