The temporary ban for Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) countries is valid until June 30

PixabayExport suspension is temporary

THE Russia announced this Monday, 14th, the suspension of its exports of grains and sugar due to international sanctions and to protect the internal market. The temporary ban on grain exports to the Eurasian Economic Union (EAEU) countries runs until June 30, and the ban on raw cane sugar exports outside that bloc will be in effect until August 31, according to a note from the government press service released by the Russian news agency “Interfax”. The grain ban applies to wheat and the mixture of wheat and rye, as well as rye itself, barley and corn. “The decision was taken to protect the domestic food market from external restrictions,” the text reads, referring to the international sanctions imposed by many countries after the invasion of Ukraine on February 24th. The Russian government points out that several exemptions are planned for the export of sugar and grain. “Thus, the supply of these products outside Russia will be possible, including for the provision of humanitarian assistance, as well as in the context of international traffic”, adds the note. The Russian government did not specify from what date the ban will take effect, but Interfax said it should be introduced from this Tuesday.

*With information from EFE


Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more


The News 24 is the place where you get news about the World. we cover almost every topic so that you don’t need to find other sites.

Leave a Reply