VIDEO: Paul Onuachu beats Club duo Lang and De Ketelaere for Golden Shoe

Paul Onuachu is the third Racing Genk player to win the Golden Shoe. In an evening that was mostly dominated by Club Brugge, he was ahead of two players from the blue and black team.

It seemed to be Club Brugge’s evening, because with Charles De Ketelaere as Promise of the Year (2nd in a row), Simon Mignolet as Goalkeeper of the Year (3rd in a row) and Noa Lang as Goal of the Year (his solo against Waasland-Beveren) they piled up one prize after another in the secondary categories in the blue-black team.

De Ketelaere and Lang eventually had to fight it out with Paul Onuachu for the main prize. De Ketelaere was emphatically put forward as a top candidate, but his return round last year killed him. Visibly disappointed, he finished third.

Onuachu finally struck out in the first round of voting. He was one of the strongholds at Genk in the last rush for the title (which Club did win) and also won a cup with Genk. That gave the top scorer of the competition 311 points, while Lang (223) and especially De Ketelaere (44) lagged far behind.

Both Club players advanced in the first round of this season, but that was not enough to knock Onuachu off the throne. After Branko Strupar and Wesley Sonck, he is the third player from Genk to receive the coveted trophy.

The news shows with, among other things, the gala of the Golden Shoe

Onuachu: “My teammates helped me to win this”

Ms. Onuachu: “Very proud of him”

Cayman: “Very nice surprise”

De Ketelaere: “Onuachu is also a deserved winner”

Wullaert: “Maybe it’s to my disadvantage that I’ve already won it 3 times”

Martinez: “Celebration of Belgian football”

Golden Shoe results 2021
1. Paul Onuachu Genk 333 points
2. Noa Lang Club Brugge 272
3. Charles De Ketelaere Club Brugge 271
4. Deniz Undav Union 234
5. Junya Ito RC Genk 129
6. Hans Vanaken Club Brugge 114
7. Dante vanzeir Union 98
8. Sergio Gomez Anderlecht 43
9. Lukas Nmecha Anderlecht 42
10 Tarik Tissoudali AA Gent 36
Theo Bongonda RC Genk 36

Cayman, Mazzu and Lukaku valley in herhaling

For the 6th time in history, a Women’s Golden Shoe was also awarded. With Tessa Wullaert, Tine De Caigny and Janice Cayman, only ex-winners were eligible this time. In the end it was Cayman who – to her own surprise – got 1 point more than Wullaert (see also read).

For Cayman it is the 2nd Golden Shoe of her career and Felice Mazzu was also awarded for the second time. In 2017 he was already crowned as trainer of Charleroi, now that honor fell to him at Union, the club that he first led to 1A and with which he now takes the lead in our competition.

Best Belgian abroad, finally, was for the second year in a row a trophy that was reserved for Romelu Lukaku. He owes this in large part to the title he won with Inter. Lukaku received the prize from Thierry Henry, the assistant at the Red Devils (see also).

Other winners

  • Promise of the Year: Charles De Ketelaere (Club Bruges)
  • Coach of the Year: Felice Mazzu (Union)
  • Goalkeeper of the Year: Simon Mignolet (Club Brugge)
  • Comeback of the Year: Pieter Agneessens (Red Flamingos)
  • Best Belgian abroad: Romelu Lukaku (Inter/Chelsea)
  • Goal of the Year: Noa Lang (Club) vs. Waasland-Beveren
  • Golden Shoe women: Janice Cayman (Lyon)
Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more