Netflix: What will happen to shared accounts in 2022?

netflix-shared-accounts-2022.jpg

Many users of the Netflix platform share their passwords with family and friends. However, this is probably no longer possible.

As the North American newspaper explains in this regard, After receiving the Netflix warning, a verification code is requested to be entered, which is sent to the account holder’s email. However, there is the option to do it later, since Netflix has offered the possibility of sharing the platform account with other users contained in the same profile.

In this way, it can be understood that the platform only wants to restrict accounts that do not live in the same place as the owner, that is, Netflix intends that the accounts are only occupied by people who live in the same house. For his part, Ebony Turner, representative of Netflix, said that “This test is designed to help ensure that people who use Netflix accounts are authorized to do so”.

Why would Netflix make this decision? Based on year-over-year numbers for your subscribers, sharing passwords is estimated to cost you several billion dollars a year in lost revenue.

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more