Chiriquí, the best team at the start of the Major National Baseball Championship

After playing the first five games of the regular series of the 2021 Major Baseball National Championship, the Chiriquí team has been the most consistent, being the only undefeated in the competition.

The Chiricanos, current champions of the category, have a 5-0 record to lead group B of the tournament.

Despite the numerous casualties compared to last year’s roster, the Valle de la Luna team has made a strong start to the tournament under the direction of experienced Cuban coach Alfonso Urquiola.

A pleasant surprise so far in the championship is the representation of Darien, which escorts Chiriquí with a record of three wins and two losses.

Herrera and Los Santos (two wins and three losses) had a bad start to the tournament, but in recent days they have won triumphs that have put them in the fight for one of the three places for the next phase.

Colón has the same record as the two Azueran teams (2-3), while in the basement is Panama Oeste, which has not won in five games.

In group A, the dispute for the three places in the next stage is even, with Panama Metro placing first with a record of three victories and one defeat.

Coclé and Veraguas are still very close to the metropolitans with 3-2.

Bocas del Toro has not had a good start and is in fourth position with two wins and two losses.

Next are the Colts of Panama East (2-3) and Chiriquí West (1-4).

The best three in each group will qualify for the next phase. The second round matches, seven in total, will be played crossover: 1A vs 3A, 2A vs 2B, 1B vs 3A. The matches will take place at the venues of the classified teams.

Then a round of big four will be played, where the three winners of the previous series and the winner of the “Wild Card” game of the two best losers, would be measured in series to seven games and in stadiums where the qualifiers are located. The best two advance to the final, which will also be seven games apart.

The two best losers to play the ‘Wild Card’ will be determined by the best wins and losses in the Series of Six.

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more

Leave a Reply