With a surprise in the team, Argentina receives Uruguay: formations, schedule and TV

The new edition of the Río de La Plata classic will have an extra spice this time beyond facing two friends like Lionel Messi and Luis Suárez once again. Argentina will seek to go one step further towards Qatar 2022, but in return it could leave Uruguay on the ledge of the qualifying places with seven dates remaining for the closing of the South American Qualifiers.

It should be noted that this duel corresponds to the 5th day of the World Cup qualifier and had to be suspended in the past due to the pandemic.

Starting at 20.30, with a capacity of 50% and the available tickets sold out, the Monumental Stadium will open its doors to host the interesting derby that has been played in June of this year during the Copa América 2021 and ended with a victory for the Albiceleste 1-0 with both Papu Gómez.

Those led by Lionel Scaloni are still awaiting the resolution of the match against Brazil on the sixth date that was suspended, but anyway they are located in the second position of the table with 19 units, eight less than the Verdeamarela that leads the tournament, but six more of the playoff spot.

La Celeste will arrive in Argentina with an extra challenge: it has been 13 years without being able to beat Albiceleste with Messi on the court. However, there is a hidden detail in these statistics: in the six Argentine victories and three draws, the equality of the 2011 Copa América is accounted for, which ended with a resounding Uruguayan victory on penalties for those quarterfinals. Currently, Tabárez’s men are in fourth place with 16 points, just two more than a Colombia that is in the playoffs.

Beyond a tenuous concern that there was in the previous one for the physical condition of Lionel Messi in the face of such a loaded schedule, the eyes of the Argentine DT will be on what happens with Lautaro Martínez and Marcos Acuña, the two hits that he has in the previous one. of the game.


Argentina: Emiliano Martínez; Nahuel Molina, Cristian Romero, Nicolás Otamendi, Nicolás Tagliafico; Rodrigo De Paul, Leandro Paredes, Giovani Lo Celso; Nicolás González, Lautaro Martínez and Lionel Messi. DT: Lionel Scaloni.

Uruguay: Fernando Muslera; Nahitan Nández, Ronald Araújo, Diego Godín, Matías Viña; Federico Valverde, Lucas Torreira, Matías Vecino; Nicolás De La Cruz, Brian Rodríguez and Luis Suárez. DT: Óscar Tabárez.

Stadium: Monumental (Argentina)

Referee: Roberto Tobar (Chile)

Schedule: 20.30

Television: TyC Sports and Public TV

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more

Leave a Reply