The reason why Mbappé's controversial goal against Spain was not signaled offside

France was proclaimed this Sunday as new Nations League champion against Spain, thanks to two goals from Benzema and Mbappé to come back and destroy the illusions of La Roja, which resulted in a great (and better) final. Nevertheless, the last goal came full of controversy for a possible offside that practically the entire Spanish delegation demanded … but that ended without being indicated.

About 10 minutes from the end and with a tie on the scoreboard, Mbappé received a deep ball from Theo while slightly ahead of Eric García, last Spanish defense. The Frenchman was left alone against Unai and scored without complications in the face of protests from Spain.

The images made it clear that the PSG player had his trunk in front of the offside line, but nevertheless, the VAR was correct in validating both. Eric’s intention to play the ball and his touch on the ball when trying to clear was the condemnation of the team, as explained by the referee and dictates the regulations.

This is how the regulation explains it

“A player in an offside position will only be penalized when the ball touches or is played by a teammate if he participates actively in the game:

  • Interfering with play by touching a ball passed or touched by a teammate
  • Interfering with an opponent’s game in the following ways:

– Preventing the ball from playing or being able to play
-Disputing the ball
-Trying to play a close ball clearly
-Performing an action that affects the ability of an opponent to play the ball

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more

Leave a Reply