"Eric Garcia tries to clear": Iturralde González explains Mbappé's goal

With the scoreboard tied in the last minutes of the match, the resistance of Luis Enrique’s Spanish National Team fell to a genius from Kylian Mbappé to put the final 1-2 in the UEFA Nations League final. When everything seemed lost, the French forward’s illegal position was shown in the repetition, starting clearly offside. Despite this, and with a tedious VAR review by means of, Anthony Taylor did not annul the goal, leaving the entire football world dumbfounded.

In ‘Carrusel Deportivo’ with Dani Garrido, Eduardo Iturralde González explained the reason for the legality of Mbappé’s goal. And, the key is in the light touch of Eric García prior to the reception of the Paris Saint-Germain footballer. “Touching does not mean that he avoids the offside. Eric García has to try to clear, in the repetition you see that he falls to the ground to try to clear. If he touches it, it is a goal. If he goes to the ground and touches it, he enables, because what he tries is to clear, “explained the referee.

Given the doubts that may arise if the slight touch of the Spanish center-back is considered or not clearance, as well as the role of the French forward in clearance, the explanation remains clear. “Mbappé does not interfere with clearance, what he does is condition clearance. But the regulation speaks of interfering,” Iturralde González recounted. In addition, he points out that Eric García, if he had stayed still, the goal would have been annulled. “He is free to clear or let the ball pass,” concluded the ‘Carrusel Deportivo’ collaborator. Undoubtedly, the controversy is served despite the explanation of Iturralde González, showing the bad fortune of Luis Enrique’s men in the final of the UEFA Nations League.

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more

Leave a Reply