The Nobel Prizes will not be awarded until December 10, 2021 in Stockholm and Oslo. But you will find out earlier who will receive it.

Berlin. Every year in October, the great guesswork comes to an end: Then it will be announced who will be with the Nobel Prize is awarded. The three science prizes traditionally kick off. At the subsequent Nobel Prize for Literature, things are a little different this time. We explain what you need to know now about the Nobel Prize in 2021.

Who Invented the Nobel Prize?

Alfred Nobel launched the award named after him. The Swedish industrialist and dynamite inventor, who died in 1896, commissioned parliament to honor personalities or organizations for their services to humanity every year. In his will, Nobel stated that the interest on his property should be used for the price.

What categories are there?

The prize is awarded in six different categories: Peace, literature, economics, physics, chemistry and medicine. The Nobel Peace Prize is particularly well-known, it is considered the most important political award in the world. The aim is to honor those who “worked best for the fraternization of peoples, for the abolition or reduction of the standing armies and for the formation and dissemination of peace congresses”.

Since 1960 the commitment to human rights and since 2004 the work for the environment have been honored.

Which award winners are already known?

On Monday the Nobel Prize in Medicine awarded. . The discoveries made by this year’s Nobel Prize winners “enabled us to understand how heat, cold and mechanical forces trigger the nerve impulses that enable us to perceive and adapt to the world around us,” the committee said.

The researchers used pressure-sensitive cells to discover a new class of sensors that respond to mechanical stimuli in the skin and internal organs.

Who are the favorites for the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize?

This year the Nobel Committee in Oslo received a large number of proposals. There were a total of 329 nominations, of which 234 were for individuals and 95 for organizations.

The head of the Oslo peace research institute Prio, Henrik Urdal, favors the journalists’ organization this year “Reporters Without Borders”. Udal told the Evangelical Press Service: “That would be a price for those who work to protect a cornerstone of peaceful conflict resolution”.

Betting agencies run the World health organization (WHO) as a top contender for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize. Other prominent nominees are the Russian opposition leader Alexej Navalny, the Swedish climate activist Greta Thunberg, and the Belarusian opposition leader Svetlana Tichanowskaja.

When will the winners be announced?

For five days, a prize winner will be announced every day:

  • October 4th from 11.30 a.m .: Medicine Nobel Prize
  • October 5th from 11.45 a.m .: Physics Nobel Prize
  • October 6th from 11.45 a.m .: Nobel Prize in Chemistry
  • October 7th from 1pm: Nobel Prize for Literature
  • October 8th from 11.00 a.m .: Nobel Peace Prize
  • October 11 from 11.45 a.m .: Economic Nobel Prize

Where are the prizes awarded?

While most of the Nobel Prizes are awarded in Sweden’s capital Stockholm, the Peace Prize is presented in Oslo, Norway. Nobel ordered that in his will. Why is unknown. During Nobel’s lifetime, Sweden and Norway formed a union under Swedish leadership.

Also interesting:

How much prize money is there?

The Nobel Prize is linked to the profit of ten million Swedish kronor in each category – the equivalent of around 985,000 euros.

What are the scandals surrounding the award?

The Nobel Prize for Literature in particular is known for scandals. When Iran imposed its Islamic fatwa on Salman Rushdie in 1989, the academy did not take a political stance. Three members resigned in protest.

The Frenchman Jean paul Sartre was the only one to reject the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1964 voluntarily and proudly declared: “Every price is addictive.”

Also the musician Bob Dylan staged a small drama in 2016: At first he did not reveal whether he even wanted to accept the award, then he did not come to the award ceremony.

In 2018, the Nobel Prize for Literature was not even awarded at all. Reason was a Abuse allegations scandal, Corruption and the resignation of numerous Academy members. 18 women had reported sexual assault by the husband of an academy member in the course of the MeToo movement. Even Crown Princess Victoria is said to be among the victims.

Not a scandal, but a funny anecdote:. A video of the glitch quickly went viral.

Who was the first woman to receive a Nobel Prize?

The physicist Marie Curie was the first female award winner in 1903. The committee honored her for discovering radioactivity. In 1911 she received a second Nobel Prize, this time in the chemistry category: She was awarded for the discovery and research of the elements radium and polonium. So far, women have received the coveted award 52 times.

Who is the youngest recipient?

The youngest Nobel Prize winner to date is Malala Yousafzai, Nobel Peace Prize laureate from 2014. When the award was announced, the child rights activist from Pakistan was only 17 years old. He could snatch this record away from 16-year-old Greta Thunberg this year.

Who is the oldest award winner?

Born in 1922 in Jena, Germany, John Goodenough is the oldest Nobel laureate ever – in 2019 the decision was made on the chemist, who was chosen together with Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino for the development of lithium-ion batteries.

Who Rejected the Nobel Prize?

Two laureates rejected the Nobel Prize on their own initiative: jean paul Sartre 1964, who did not accept honors on principle, and Le Duc Thowho was to be honored together with Henry Kissinger in 1973 for negotiating the Vietnam peace.

Four winners were also forced to decline the award. Adolf Hitler forbade the chemists Richard Kuhn and Adolf Butenandt as well as the physician Gerhard Domagk to accept it. The Soviet Union canceled for the author Boris Pasternak.

(jr / cho / te / dpa / epd)

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more