The difference between Together for Change and the Front of All is counted by thousands of ballots, in the categories of pre-candidates for senators and national deputies. In both there were attractive electoral disputes, but any reading on the results of the national election that defines which blanket ballots will be in the dark room of November 14 will not be able to do without that data: the opposition alliance counted 166 thousand more votes than Santa Fe’s Peronism .

The other salient point is that in Peronism the political leadership of Omar Perotti has won by a difference that does not admit discussion. And since it is an open internal election, the governor may well say that it is an endorsement of his administration. His photo, his name and his surname played the remaining two years of his government for the candidacy for national senators of Marcelo Lewandowski and María de los Ángeles Sacnun, with the support of the Casa Rosada and Cristina Fernández de Kirchner. He won in the difficult move of a testimonial candidacy, but he will be the campaign manager of the Frente de Todos that will start far behind a new Cambiemos, which is now dominated by the radical leaders of the province.

The recent visits by former President Mauricio Macri, former Minister of Security Patricia Bullrich and former national deputy Elisa Carrió did not reach the lists that were closer to the previous national government, or perhaps they were finished defining them. The rosters headed by Federico Angelini and Amalia Granata in one case, and by José Corral and Roy López Molina in the other, were very far from those who at the end of the provisional ballot disputed the binomial who will be a candidate for the Senate of the Nation by force that so far he has more votes.

In a dispute in which the radicals predominate, the pair of the Buenos Aires TV journalist Carolina Losada (a native of Rosario) who presented her candidacy together with the president of the national radicalism, Alberto Cornejo and the northern leader of the UCR, has a resounding advantage. Dionisio Scarpín, the mayor of Avellaneda who was the most visible face of the mobilizations in rejection of an expropriation of Vicentín on the one hand; and on the other, that of the radicals Maximiliano Pullaro and Carolina Piedrabuena. He was the Minister of Security of the last government of the Progressive Front together with the deceased former governor Miguel Lifschitz (his death has left a void in progressivism), and until a short time ago she was the Secretary of the Treasury of the mayor of Santa Fe, Emilio Jatón .

The Losada-Scarpin duo is joined by the former mayor of Santa Fe, Mario Barletta, who will undoubtedly be a candidate for national deputy (in first or second place, they will say in the next few hours) and is one of the big winners of the day .

On the other hand, that of Pullaro-Piedrabuena is supported in the provincial interior by the head of the interblock of provincial senators of the UCR, Felipe Michlig, who was as a substitute candidate for the upper house of Congress. In Deputies on that ballot there are more colors and the one of Gabriel Chumpitaz del Pro stands out, followed by the radicals Victoria Tejeda (former candidate for lieutenant governor along with Antonio Bonfatti) and the senator for San Justo, Rodrigo Borla.

The pluses and minuses

A reading of the names that head lists, without considering results in the internals of the ruling party and the opposition, and mixing those who were pre-candidates for the two Houses of Congress undoubtedly puts the senator by Rosario Marcelo Lewandowski (with the support of Perotti, of the Casa Gris and Vice President Cristina Kirchner) first (326 my votes), followed by the first candidate for national deputy on that ballot, National Senator Roberto Mirabella (318 thousand votes). They are followed by those who won in Together for Change: Carolina Losada (201 thousand votes) and Mario Barletta (198 thousand), and their best competitors in that internal opposition: Maximiliano Pullaro (187 thousand) and Gabriel Chumpitaz (180 thousand).

One notch below they appear Agustín Rossi (161 thousand), Federico Angelini (159 thousand), and Luciano Laspina (157 thousand). With more than one hundred thousand votes Clara García, Mónica Fein, Roy López Molina and José Corral.

It is positive that each of those named surpasses the blank votes (78,332). Regarding the enormous number of invalid votes (94,202), the reasons enable doubts and speculation: from the anger of the voters who wanted to annul their suffrage, to their inability to cast a valid vote. After one in the morning on September 13, if you add them up, the figure gives chills: 172,534.

Opinion published in

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more

Leave a Reply