You are currently viewing Council of State asks citizens to maintain “tranquility” and respect “the results” of the Elections

The Council of State, made up of the high authorities of the three branches of the State, in addition to the Public Ministry, the Ombudsman’s Office, the Constitutional Court, the National Board of Justice and the Comptroller General of the Republic, issued a statement on Tuesday in which urges citizens to maintain “tranquility” and respect “the results” of the second round of elections last Sunday, June 6.

SIGHT: JNE will announce results of the second electoral round after resolving appeals

The document indicates that it is “Foreign to a democracy promote constitutional ruptures to access power” and it is explained that “The speeches that encourage hatred among Peruvians do not contribute to social peace or to consolidate democratic values”.

Let’s keep calm and respect the results. Within the framework of their powers, the electoral authorities must issue the final results and proclaim the person who will exercise the presidency of the country in the next five years. The political groups, as they committed themselves, and the general public must expect and respect the final results of the election.”, The statement reads.

SIGHT: Pedro Castillo: “Today the real battle begins to end the great inequalities that this country has”

Serious criticism, information based on truth and respectful, contribute to the formation of a free and tolerant public opinion. The speeches that encourage hatred among Peruvians do not contribute to social peace or to consolidate democratic values. […] We respect our electoral bodies. It is up to them to resolve any controversy raised in the electoral process. We reject any type of pressure and smear campaigns towards the electoral authorities”, They indicate.

SIGHT: Vladimir Cerrón: “The unity of the Party, the government and the people guarantees true democracy”

The statement of the Council of State is signed by President Francisco Rafael Sagasti; the president of the Congress, Mirtha Vásquez; the president of the Judiciary, Elvia Barrios; the prosecutor of the Nation, Zoraida Ávalos; the president of the National Board of Justice, Luz Valcárcel Tello de Ñecco; and the president of the Constitutional Court, Marianella Ledesma.

The document is also signed by the head of the Office of the Comptroller General of the Republic, Nelson Shack; the Ombudsman, Walter Gutiérrez; and the president of the Council of Ministers, Violeta Bermúdez.

(Document: Council of State)



  • COVID-19: In six months of management 69% more was invested in oxygen than in the management of Martín Vizcarra
  • The president has no one to calm him down, a chronicle by Fernando Vivas
  • Francisco Sagasti: Constitutionalists rule out that the call to Vargas Llosa constitutes a break to neutrality
  • MVLL on Sagasti’s call: “He did not try to influence me at all so that Mrs. Fujimori would accept the result”
  • Between discrepancies and negatives: What happens inside Peru Libre and what influence does Vladimir Cerrón have?


Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more