You are currently viewing The Panama national team seeks to give the first ‘hit’ to Curaçao in the Rod Carew

The Panama team will hold this Saturday, from 6:05 pm, at the Rod Carew National Stadium, the first duel for the pass to the Octagonal Final of the CONCACAF qualifying rounds towards the Qatar 2022 World Cup.

“Curaçao is a tough opponent. It’s going to be a very open game for both of us, but we have to focus on getting a good result at home, “said the coach of the” sele “, the Danish Thomas Christiansen.

Panama will seek to stay perfect in the Rod Carew by qualifying matches, after adding three consecutive victories.

The eleventh national team defeated El Salvador 1-0 on June 15, 2008 on the way to the 2010 World Cup in South Africa and recently beat Anguilla (0-13) and the Dominican Republic (3-0) in their last two games on the road. to Qatar 2022.

Although they have already seen each other seven times, in regional events such as the Central American and Caribbean Games and the Central American and Caribbean Soccer Cups, the clash between Panamanians and Curacao is unprecedented in this type of qualifying.

The last match between the two teams dates from August 1957, ending in a tie at two.

The referee for tonight’s engagement is the Salvadoran Jorge Herrera.

YOU CAN ALSO READ: Still mess in the Olympic Committee of Panama

Unbeaten teams

The eleventh national comes from achieving two victories in March over Barbados (1-0) and Dominica (1-2), both at the Félix Sánchez stadium, in the Dominican Republic.

He then closed the first phase with two more victories at the Rod Carew National Stadium over Anguilla and the Dominican Republic to seal the ticket to the second phase of the CONCACAF qualifiers.

For its part, Those led by coach Patrick Kluivert, former player of the Dutch national team and Barcelona, ​​are undefeated on the way to the World Cup in Qatar after adding three victories and a draw for the first round of the qualifying rounds.

The return between Panamanians and Curazoleños will be played this Tuesday, June 15 at 7:00 pm (Panama time) at the Ergilio Hato Stadium in Willemstad.

The winner of the series will advance to the octagonal final where the teams of Mexico, the United States, Costa Rica, Honduras and Jamaica are already waiting.

fbq(‘init’, ‘1993521960918834’);
fbq(‘track’, ‘PageView’);

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more