The ‘Loco’ Abreu retires at 44: Guinness record, 31 teams and almost 500 goals

The quintessential old football rocker hangs up his boots. The ‘Loco’ Abreu retires at 44 of professional football with the dispute after 26 years of career around the world. East Friday he will play his last game with South America, in which it will be the fifth day of the Uruguayan League Opening Tournament.

Abreu leaves high-level sport with him Guinness record for most military clubs, having been in 31 teams different, playing 857 games in which he has scored 468, including those played with the Uruguayan national team.

South America, a team recently promoted to First Division, is the thirty-first club in its extensive sporting career. However, their great achievements arrived with the Celeste, with which he obtained the title of America’s Cup in 2011 and the fourth place at the 2010 World Cup in South Africa, where he scored the anthological goal ‘a la Panenka’ that gave his team a pass to the semifinals.

“I ended up getting everything I could dream of by playing in Minas and I no longer had anything to give. I gave it my all and be able to make the decision in force, active at 44 years old and with the team well located, It is the best way“, he told Ovación, the sports supplement of the newspaper El País.

Abreu will hang up his boots 26 years and 6 days after his professional debut, on June 4, 1995, when he played for Defensor Sporting. And he did it against Liverpool, the same team against which he will say goodbye this Friday.

READ ALSO:  The four 'Grand Slams' offer their help to Osaka: "Mental health deserves our utmost attention"

The 31 teams of his Guinness record

  • Defensor Sporting (Uruguay)
  • San Lorenzo (Argentina)
  • Deportivo la Coruña (Spain)
  • Guild (Brazil)
  • Tecos (Mexico)
  • National (Uruguay)
  • Cruz Azul (Mexico)
  • America (Mexico)
  • Dorados de Sinaloa (Mexico)
  • San Luis (Mexico)
  • Tigres (Mexico)
  • River Plate (Argentina)
  • Beitar Jerusalem (Israel)
  • Real Sociedad (Spain)
  • Aris Thessaloniki (Greece)
  • Botafogo (Brazil)
  • Figueirense (Brazil)
  • Rosario Central (Argentina)
  • Aucas (Ecuador)
  • Sun of America (Paraguay)
  • Santa Tecla (El Salvador)
  • Bangu (Brazil)
  • Central Spanish (Uruguay)
  • Sports Puerto Montt (Chile)
  • Audax Italiano (Chile)
  • Magallanes (Chile)
  • Rio Branco (Brazil)
  • Boston River (Uruguay)
  • Athletic Club (Brazil)
  • South America (Uruguay)


Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *