According to the criteria of

Know more

In the privacy of our headphones, we are all eclectic. Lynyrd Skynyrd, Jerry Rivera, Drake, Karol G and even Glenn Gould can coexist in the same ‘playlitst’. But, alas, for that artist who dares to betray his origins. Since ancient times, musical style transitions have always been a complicated process. That’s why it’s nice to see a career like that of Juanes which has made evolution and mixing its banner.

SIGHT: Billie Eilish and a documentary showing the crisis behind the promotion | REVIEW

“Origen”, the new Colombian album, is a collection of his personal playlist, songs that were the soundtrack of his life, but also inputs to define the musical style with which he became famous all over the planet. Along with the album, Juanes launched a documentary on Prime Video that serves to put into context a proposal that, otherwise, would fall into the bag already filled with cover discs.

Thanks to the documentary, Juanes ‘covers’ of songs by artists such as Juan Gabriel, Joe Arroyo and Bob Marley take on another value and even a certain emotional charge. The album has 12 songs, 11 of them are part of the special for Prime Video, 10 are explained in detail and 4 have the participation and evaluation of their authors: Juan Luis Guerra, Joaquín Sabina, Fito Páez and Ziggy Marley (in the latter case, son of Bob Marley, the author of the song covered by Juanes).

The participation of these characters represents the strongest point of the special, because the film takes a very agile pace, it enters a space of trust between friends in which the stories of well-known songs in the Spanish-speaking world are told, and It is also discussed, from the experience of these other artists, the steps followed by Juanes.

We learned that the Colombian, inspired by Sabina, took a tenths course, and that Juan Luis Guerra, highly respected in the Latin industry for his theoretical knowledge of music, usually leaves Juanes “homework” of artists to listen to in order to understand the concepts of harmony, and that the Colombian’s curiosity for it has grown so much that he enrolled in a course at the Let It Beat! academy, founded in Los Angeles by Argentine bassist Guillermo Vadalá.

The talks are interesting both for Juanes fans who want to know more about his history, and for those curious about music, who want to know a little more about how there may be a relationship between the harmonic progression of Sabina’s “Y gave us the 10” and the mariachi. Or why the winds of a salsa or a cumbia can be so easily translated into rock riffs, a very frequent resource in Colombian songs.

All this ‘extra musical’ material is sprinkled with the video clips of the songs that make up the album, and that since days before the launch of the special on Prime Video, were already available on YouTube. The aesthetic chosen by Juanes, who at times looks like John Lennon and then turns into a sort of Lemmy Kilmister ‘carrot’, is also better understood after watching the documentary. There is no longer the feeling of seeing another video with a ‘vintage’ aesthetic, since everything goes hand in hand with the rhythm of the story proposed in the film.

Although the closing of “Origen” may be somewhat untimely, it works both as a piece of entertainment, as a documentary proposal of a moment in the career of Juanes, who says goodbye, to the rhythm of a very famous vallenato (“Without measuring distances” Diomedes Díaz) and asking himself a question that he is asked very frequently: why are people surprised that I listen to heavy metal and do cumbia, if I am like that.

Actually, we are all like that.


Synopsis: Documentary about “Origen”, the new cover album by the Colombian singer. The special will also feature Juanes discussing the making of the album and interacting with other composers – Juan Luis Guerra, Joaquín Sabina, Fito Páez and Ziggy Marley – who share their first reactions to their new interpretations of his work. Viewers will also find Juanes opening up to the public in a very personal way, explaining how these songs influenced him, while sharing never-before-released images of him and his family, and their early years.

Platform: Prime Video.

Director: José Tillán and Kacho López.

Duration: 1 hour.

Qualification: ★★★.

List of songs from the album “Origin”:

1 Rebellion – Joe Arroyo

2 Back – Carlos Gardel

3 Our Oath – Julio Jaramillo

4 The Bilirubina – Juan Luis Guerra

5 Every Man Is A Story – Kraken

6 Love After Love – Fito Páez

7 Could You Be Loved – Bob Marley

8 Without Measuring Distances – Diomedes Díaz

9 I have no money – Juan Gabriel

10 Dancing in the Dark- Bruce Springsteen

11 De Oro – André Family

12 And They Gave Us Ten – Joaquín Sabina


"Origin", documentary by Juanes.  (Source: Prime Exclusive)
“Origin”, by Juanes. (Source: Prime Exclusive)



Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more


The News 24 is the place where you get news about the World. we cover almost every topic so that you don’t need to find other sites.