The UEFA confirmed that Sevilla will replace Bilbao as the venue for the next European Championship, in which Munich remains as host and the matches that were to be played in Dublin will be played in Saint Petersburg and London.

As decided by the UEFA Executive Committee meeting this Friday, the La Cartuja stadium in Seville will be the alternative venue to San Mamés in the competition, in which Munich has confirmed a minimum of 14,500 spectators to host matches.

This was announced by Manu Carreño, exclusively, at El Larguero on April 15.

UEFA explained that the four games that were going to be played in Bilbao, the three of the group stage of the Spanish team within group E and one of the round of 16, will be transferred to the La Cartuja stadium in Seville, with the support of the Autonomous Community of Andalusia, which has confirmed its intention to allow spectators to 30% of the capacity of the field.

“Following the decision of the local authorities, it became clear that it was highly unlikely that the fans would be able to attend the games that were scheduled to be played there. Therefore, With the help of the Royal Spanish Football Federation (RFEF), UEFA proposed moving those matches to another venue in that host country, simply so that fans could attend the matches after a year without being able to watch football live on the stadiums“said UEFA.

In a statement, he said that “this decision will create a festive atmosphere in all matches that take place in UEFA’s most important national team competition.”

Spain will therefore play in La Cartuja against Sweden on June 14, against Poland on June 19 and Slovakia on June 23.

Two days ago in a joint statement, the Bilbao City Council, the Provincial Council of Bizkaia and the Basque Government announced the ‘unilateral’ decision of UEFA, which they do not share, and announced that they will enforce the contract they signed with this body to ask for financial compensation.

The UEFA Executive Committee also determined that the three Group E matches initially scheduled in Dublin (Poland-Slovakia, Sweden-Slovakia and Sweden-Poland) will be relocated to the Saint Petersburg Stadium, which will also host three Group B matches and one of the quarterfinals.

Dublin stay out

The round of 16 match that was also to be played in Dublin will move to Wembley Stadium in London, home to the semi-finals (July 6 and 7) and the final (July 11).

UEFA President Aleksander Ceferin assured that they have “worked diligently with the host associations and local authorities to ensure a safe and festive environment at matches” and was “very pleased to be able to welcome the spectators in every game to celebrate national team football across the continent. “

UEFA expressed “its appreciation and gratitude to the cities of Bilbao and Dublin -both considered good venues to host future UEFA events-, to the national and regional governments of Spain and the Republic of Ireland, and to all interested parties. locals for their dedication, professionalism and efforts over the last few years. “

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more