Hashim Amla, Vernon Philander and Wayne Parnell have all been named in the Western Province squad

Duanne Olivier, Hardus Viljoen, Kyle Abbott, Simon Harmer and Stiaan van Zyl, who had all left the South Africa set-up with Kolpak deals, have returned to the country’s Division 1 competition for the upcoming season.

All Kolpak registrations were cancelled at the end of 2020 following the end of the United Kingdom’s transition period with the European Union, and meant that those playing county cricket on such deals were released from their terms and were eligible to represent South Africa again.

Earlier this year, Abbott became the first high-profile returnee to South African domestic cricket after signing a short-term deal with the Titans ahead of the One-Day Cup.

Disclaimer: If you need to update/edit/remove this news or article then please contact our support team Learn more